Shock & Awe

“WHAT IS THE OBJECTIVE?!”

Shock and Awe.

One of my many favorite scenes in the movie Hitch. I remember particularly Will Smith’s complete disgust with Albert’s timidness.  I began using “Shockingly Awful” as my own way of expressing disdain, as it’s always been a source of  joy to find the most intense way of delivering my disgust.  I’m not sure what type of humor you would call that, I took an online test, the most official way to learn things about yourself , and found my sense of humor is called surreal humor. With whatever that means, I’m not surprised to know that I would find the term or an adaptation of it…”That was shockingly, awful” to be completely hilarious.

So,  Shock and Awe or rapid dominance,is a military tactic “based on the use of overwhelming power, dominant battlefield awareness, dominant maneuvers, and spectacular displays of force to paralyze an adversary’s perception of the battlefield and destroy its will to fight. Insert my picture.

Rapid dominance is defined as attempting

“to affect the will, perception, and understanding of the adversary to fight or respond to our strategic policy ends through imposing a regime of Shock and Awe.”[3]

Further, rapid dominance will…

“impose this overwhelming level of Shock and Awe against an adversary on an immediate or sufficiently timely basis to paralyze its will to carry on… [to] seize control of the environment and paralyze or so overload an adversary’s perceptions and understanding of events that the enemy would be incapable of resistance at the tactical and strategic levels.”

Deep right! I know. So indulge me, something meant to be so incredibly overwhelming that it affects your will to proceed. I can think of 20 things this month alone that probably had that intended affect, to which I work equally as hard to reply just as Hitch did.

I remember a friend from college detailing his line name when he joined his fraternity, Blitzkrieg.  Blitzkrieg is another military tactic aimed at achieving psychological shock…damn, and in turn the disorganization of your opponent also through colossal force but by surprise and with speed.

Military tactics, yes, but also what life be like sometimes.

 

 

Leave a Reply

